The Plan

It’s been 2 weeks since I’ve started my sabbatical and I think I’ve come up with ‘The Plan’ for what I’m going to do. This actually required a little bit of business planning, in addition to technical planning, so it took me a little longer than I would have liked. So here’s what I’ve come up with:

– NowStream Server (codename CoffeeTalk): an Instant Outlining server for developing and deploying collaborative applications.
– NowStream clients that connect to the NowStream Server in various languages and frameworks.
– Collab@Web: a dynamic project management system built on NowStream technology.

Collab@Web will be the product that we figure out how to sell. I’m still working on the details, but I’ve been working on the work flow for quite a while.

A lot of my thinking has been inspired by the changing forces of the web. Adobe and its Apollo platform look very promising and the rise of Twitter has sparked a lot of ideas on instant information.

I want a tool that can help me manage this huge deluge of valuable information. Something that can keep me in close contact to the important happenings of the moment. That means that group members and what they’re doing needs to be easily accessible and tracked. There’s a lot of competition in this space, but I want my own version that fits my needs. As long as it is useful to me I’ll consider it a success.

Time to dig in.